Book Problems

Working at the circulation desk at the library for almost 20 years, I have heard many excuses and explanations for late, lost or damaged books. Sometimes it’s hard to keep a straight face. This is especially so when the reason for the excuse is mirrored in the title or subject matter of the book.

Sometimes people get the irony and sometimes they are totally oblivious.

Just after marijuana was legalized in Colorado, I had a young man come to the desk asking if we had any books on marijuana growing or recipes. I looked in the catalog.

“It seems that about half the books are lost and the other half are late – significantly late,” I said.

“Hmm,” he responded, “that doesn’t really speak too well about our community, does it?”

His words, not mine.

Then, of course, was the man who sheepishly approached the desk with a book. “I need to pay for this book,” he said. “My dog chewed it.” The title, HOW TO TRAIN YOUR DOG, I kid you not.

The other day a book on CD was returned in the book drop, Elizabeth George’s CARELESS IN RED. A disc was missing. I did not get the chance to see what color clothing the person was wearing.

Another time a woman produced her card and I looked up her account.

“You have a number of late fees, you know,” I said to her.

“Really?” she said, “I didn’t know that. What were the books?”

They all had titles on the subject of staying out of debt.

And then just recently, we had a book returned that had water damage. It was the children’s book of NOAH’S ARK.

All these things have actually happened. It’s what keeps me smiling.

So if you can’t find your copy of THE JAPANESE MAGIC OF TIDYING UP or some other book on being minimalist and organized, it’s probably under a pile of papers or clothing somewhere in your house.

Leave a comment